Stormy Weather - Climate Change & Social Justice

In Stormy Weather, international artists reflect on the climate crisis concerning the unequal power distribution in the world. Pollution and global warming, with all consequences for land, water, air, and all living organisms, are related to international political systems and socio-economic processes, now and in the past.

In 2018 millions of people had to rely on emergency aid because of natural disasters such as floods, hurricanes, and heat waves. By the end of this century, climate change will cause two billion climate refugees, one-fifth of the world’s population. That’s what many scientific studies predict. Large parts of land in the southern hemisphere will become uninhabitable due to a lack of water and high temperatures. Living areas in the far north will melt away.

The industrialized world has had the largest share of greenhouse gas emissions and all its benefits for decades. However, the most vulnerable people, mostly in poorer countries in the southern hemisphere, are the least responsible for climate change but are worst affected by it and have the least potential to protect themselves.

Technology and production process adjustments are often considered the solution to environmental problems. However, the artists of Stormy Weather show that fighting climate change requires a fairer organization of society.

The challenge of this meaningful exhibition context was to fit LandRush’s multilayered research into the sacristy of the Walburgiskerk, Museum Arnhem’s temporary location in 2019. We always try to work with the available space rather than pushing a “one size fits it all “presentation of our work. And so we conceived of a new rendering of LandRush specially configurated for a small space.

Venue: Museum Arnhem – de kerk, Arnhem
Date: 26 July – 12 October, 2019
Curator: Manon Braat
Artists: Brook Andrew, Ursula Biemann, Maarten Vanden Eynde, Serge Attukwei Clottey, Gayle Chong Kwan, Britta Marakatt-Labba, Frauke Huber & Uwe H. Martin, Mary Mattingly, Marianne Nicolson, Steve Rowell, Stéphanie Roland, Denise Ferreira da Silva & Arjuna Neuman, Moffat Takadiwa